Gluten

If the GenArrayt® test has shown an ELEVATED reaction to gliadin (a protein fraction of gluten), it is important to eliminate consumption of foods that contain gluten-based grains, even if the individual grains (wheat, barley and rye) are not ELEVATED on your Test Report – the gliadin and gluten-containing grain results should be interpreted together.

Some people with gluten intolerance can tolerate oats, but they are often contaminated with wheat, rye and/or barley, so it is recommended that foods containing oats are also avoided.

Foods to Avoid

Foods containing wheat:
Refer to ‘How To Avoid Wheat’

Foods containing rye:

  • Crispbreads
  • Crackers
  • Pumpernickel bread
  • Rye bread
  • Some types of whisky
  • Some types of beer

Foods containing barley:

  • Barley water
  • Pot barley
  • Pearl barley
  • Some soups and stews
  • Coffee substitutes
  • Some types of whisky
  • Some types of beer

Ingredients to Avoid

Gluten may be hidden in many foods and so it is important to always read the ingredients label carefully before purchase.

Below are some ingredients that may be listed:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Spelt
  • Durum wheat
  • Couscous
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Bran
  • Triticale
  • Dextrin
  • Oats

Alternative Foods

Alternative ingredients that can be used in gluten-free baking include

  • Amaranth
  • Potato our
  • Quinoa our
  • Buckwheat our
  • Rice our
  • Corn our
  • Ground nuts (e.g. almonds)
  • Sago our
  • Lentil our
  • Chickpea/gram our
  • Soy our
  • Millet our
  • Tapioca